I, and other people I know have had a few calls recently from some Indian sounding guys saying they are from ‘Microsoft Windows’. They are very convincing, and very polite, and I’m sure plenty of people are falling for this scam, as it sounded like there were lots of other people working the phones in the background. I led them on today to see what they are after.The guy (calling himself Eric Daniels) took me through the process of looking at the event viewer on my PC, and told me that all of the errors and warnings in there were being sent to them at ‘Windows’, and he was making a courtesy call to try and resolve my problems. He then wanted me to allow them to take control of my PC using a piece of software called TeamViewer. This would allow them to get anything they want off your PC – personal data etc. This is the point where I started to feel very angry. If I knew very little about computers, and trusted this guy, them by installing TeamViewer, I would be giving him total access to anything on my PC, to do with as he wished – personal documents, browser history – and perhaps he was going to install something on my pc that would trap future keypresses and send them to their servers (passwords etc.). Who knows.
I asked to speak to the manager – he was very reluctant to let me speak to him, but he did put me through eventually. The manager started to give me some spiel in a thick Indian accent, and I stopped him by demanding his name. He said his name was Alan Garcia.
When I said thats a funny name for an Indian, he started hurling abuse at me and called me a ‘Black Punk Ass’.
If Anyone calls you from ‘Windows’ or Microsoft, and claims that you have problems with your PC – tell them to get stuffed. Microsoft would never ring any user about problems with their PC.
I demanded the guys phone number, and he gave it to me .Its 03300010981. The company is called Redout. Their website is here -http://radiantoutsourcing.com
They gave me an address – suite 9, 34 Buckingham palace road,London. It turns out to be one of these holding addresses for dodgy companies. Their website gives another address in the states -New York.
Make sure you tell people about this – I’m afraid that a lot of people are getting hoodwinked by this gang of scammers.